ResumeWritingGroup.com Review

'the resume is what it is'

Resumewritinggroup.com has an excellent, really well-organized website. But, this is often misleading, so we always do research before we rate a service. The next step is always reviews. So, we read some resume writing group reviews hoping to see how much customers like this service.

We were negatively surprised when we read those resumewritinggroup reviews. Most of the people who have ordered here mentioned their big prices and inadequate writers, as well as support that doesn’t care if you don’t like their product. This made us even more eager to order and dig into the website to see what annoys people so much. To learn the answers to this, keep reading this review.

QUALITY

What we got was a resume and one of their ‘attention-grabbing cover letters’. Now that we have them in front of us, we can tell you that neither the first nor the latter are grabbing any attention. The thing that grabs attention is the amount of mistakes in it, and the fact that the resume and cover letter look too much like a template. They aren’t at all unique and aren’t even formatted properly. The things were so messed up in the resume that it seemed like the writer just added our information in a template and sent it to us before even checking how it went.

LIST OF SERVICES AND PRICES

At first we thought that the pricing here is really good. There isn’t any Resume Writing Group promo code we could use at that point, but the services had a nice price. That was before we realized that those prices are just for resumes and that, if you want anything else, you need to pay extra. If you get a couple of products that usually come in a package with other services, the price gets really, really high.

Here are their resume services with prices:

  • Student and entry level resumes at $99
  • All other professional resumes at $119
  • Senior and high level executive resumes at $199
  • Federal and government resumes at $189

As you can see, these aren’t really high. But, if you want something more, such as the products offered in packages in other services, you have to pay extra. Here are some of the extra services:

  • Cover letters at $69.95
  • Thank-you letters at $59.95
  • Keyword-targeted resume at a price of additional $49.95
  • LinkedIn profile at $89.95
  • Career coaching packages at prices from $69.95 to $189

So, if you want to order just a resume here, you get a nice price, an average price. But, if you want more, the price grows rapidly and gets much bigger. Since this company has no packages or discounts on more services, it’s no wonder why many choose to order elsewhere. And of course, there’s the big matter of quality issues.

CUSTOMER SERVICE AND DELIVERY

Because of everything we uncovered by this point, we decided to see what the Resume Writing Group customer service has to say about the quality issues. It turns out – nothing. The support says to be responding at all times, though they didn’t answer our phone call the first four times when we called.

We finally got a response via email and never on the phone. The response was professional, but didn’t help at all. They said that we have to wait for 45 days to get any revisions and we’ll only be eligible for them if we didn’t get a single interview call during that time.

The delivery wasn’t an issue in our case, but there are simply too many reports of it being an issue that we cannot rule it out as a possible risk. Knowing all of this, customers aren’t safe to order here despite the seemingly low prices and the good website design. The company is barely responsive, doesn’t take any responsibility for their writers, and often delays products without issuing a refund.

User Reviews

As so many others here have noted, this is anything BUT a professional resume writing service. They are instead online scammers who know just enough legalese to never have to give a refund or make good on promises results.

I provided my current Cv that really only needed some polish. What I got in return was a bland looking, poorly written piece of trash that was inappropriate for my field. I am in higher education and they only listed one of my degrees and put it inexplicably in italics in the center of a random section not even in the top third of the document! Presentation listings that text wrapped to multiple lines were inexplicably separated by multiple bullet points!

And this is the real kicker: when I complained the person tried to have me believe that they had MULTIPLE “conferred” PhDs and experience at many of the “top universities in the world”. Yet they cannot use the bullet function of word properly and do not know that degrees are the most important deciding factor in hiring for higher education?

It’s my fault really for not researching them enough and not going local.

BTW, these people have multiple DBA names including Dragon Resume.

I’m out $159 and no closer to a promotion. And honestly wondering if they will try to harm me financially and professionally for a bad review. They have all of my info right?

January 20, 2020
J Wilke

I spent a lot of time researching which company to hire. I communicated with several via live chat and also submitted my resume to 3 of them for “free critiques.” I chose this company because their chat had the most personality and their critique was the most authentic and least “canned.”
I picked right because the resume they did for me came out great.
I’m a retired police officer working an office job thanks to them and I couldn’t be happier.

December 5, 2019
Kenneth Houck

This company is nothing but a scam! I wish I could give them 0 stars. I’m trying to change career fields which both require very formatting on the resume and this company claims to be “well-versed in career changes.” I answered all of their numerous questions, even sent them my current resume and literally the only changes they made to it were to add a “pretty blue border” and added a few adjectives. It’s obvious they just copied and pasted what I gave them into a generic template. Not only that, they got my address wrong!! The most simple thing, the address number was wrong and “Carson City, Nevada” became “Carson, City Nevada.” What writer doesn’t know how to punctuate an address? Or do they not bother proofreading the professional resumes they send out?

December 5, 2019
Rachel Palmer

My own resume had gotten me zero calls in a month.
I’m a sales professional and used to closing the deal but could not close it without more leads, if you know what I mean.
These guys (or girls) did my resume, cover letter, etc and I’m finally getting some interview leads. They said my original resume wasn’t “ATS ready “ and didn’t stand out enough. Problem solved.

November 20, 2019
Lawrence O’Malley

I bought a resume, cover letter, Linkedin Profile, and career coaching. I was assigned to a lead writer named Lori and her assistant. The initial draft of my resume came in 2 days. I asked for some minor edits and those were returned to me the very next day. I like that Lori wanted me to approve my resume before going ahead and posting my new LinkedIn profile…that made sure that I was happy with what was posted online. Cover letter was cool too. She used a nice technique — opening w/ a powerful quote and then tying it in to my industry and objective goals.

November 15, 2019
Berna Alaniz

Terrible unprofessional resume written for 200$. And when i requested revisions i got the run around and indirect responses no one to speak to no complaint department. DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID. THIS IS A SCAM. NOT A LEGITIMATE SERVICE

October 15, 2019
Chris C.

I had an excellent experience with this company.
The resume itself looks good, my writer (Lori) was easy to deal with, and I have been getting more interviews.

October 11, 2019
michael james

I’d give them 0 stars if I could. Their guarantee is complete BS. You have to show proof of faxing or certified mailing your resumes. There is not a single company this century accepting resumes by fax or mail. Everyone uses applicant tracking systems now. And who is going to pay for certified mail for the 40 resumes they require you to send in the 45 days???? They say in their training they recommend sending via mail or fax, which clearly demonstrates just how out of touch this company is with modern practices.

It’s been over two months of me using the resume and cover letter they created, sent to over 200 companies, and only 4 interviews. But no refund for me because I live in 2019, not 1985.

And their website and online platform is ancient. Yikes. No wonder they are still recommending snail mail and fax.

Steer clear of them. Crappy work and even crappier “guarantee.”

September 6, 2019
Tiffani Frey

Unfortunately, trying to work with this company has turned into a stressful nightmare. They stated they would have my resume draft in 3-5 days and did not deliver. Then they blamed it on the fact that I didn’t schedule my career coaching session (a separate purchase) when they never indicated that one depended on the other. They first stated that the resume was in the works and ready in 3-5 days. Two whole days later they advised me that they could schedule my added career coaching session. Again, nowhere did it state that my resume was being held due to this session, which I had decided to do later as I have been contemplating getting a couple versions done of my resume, but needed this one immediately for specific job which I had sent them the link to. They’re very difficult to get in touch with. I was immediately transferred to voicemail when I called their 800 number with no call back and the writers did not respond in a timely manner, and did not address my concerns or being upset when they missed the deadline for my resume. They would then immediately close out my e-mail (or ticket they call it), so no further communication could happen unless you e-mailed a new “ticket”. You can’t respond to their e-mails directly and have to log into their site which isn’t practical when you’re busy at work. I would not recommend this company at all due to very poor customer service. Not once has anyone apologized or made me feel as if my business was important and I bought two extra services in addition to the professional resume.

June 10, 2019
Mia Emmert

Bummer I can’t add screenshots, I have been going back and forth with Resumewritinggroup.com for a couple months now. At first they were somewhat helpful, but as the time went by, the emails to them would remain unanswered and the phone calls not returned . I would suggest looking elsewhere and not spending time or money with this company. When, good service is presented, a compliment is given and when horrific service come forth, then the truth comes out. Looking for a position is tough, dealing with another headache isn’t worth it, AVOID them like a two day left out tuna sandwich!!!

April 11, 2019
Damien Montoya

The service and resume I received look very good. The cover letter was kind of average but then they revised it for me and improved it. Good people to work with– I’ll repost once I’m hired!

April 11, 2019
Larry Blevins

Before you think of hiring resumewritinggroup reviews, I would strongly advise you to pause and check out the complaints raised by past clients on bbb website. Basically, this is not the best company to handle your resume writing tasks. The resume writing group delivers substandard work and therefore don’t think of even applying for that discount coupon.

June 28, 2018
George

I found resume writing group profile online and upon receiving a coupon from them I felt I should try their services. After all, I didn’t need to pay for the service and therefore a test run was inexpensive. The company just messed my schedule and I had to hurriedly do the work by myself since I was about to miss on the deadline. For now, I don’t think this company can find a place on bbb ratings. To date, my complaints have not been responded to.

May 28, 2018
Kennedy W.

As I have just finished college, I can’t afford this! I wouldn’t write complaints if they had a coupon or something, but this is just too much. If I had a job, I wouldn’t need a resume, but obviously they don’t care.

March 28, 2018
Zane

I found resume writing group online. They are unprofessional , expensive, and they have no idea what they are doing. You are better off doing your CV yourself, even if you are not confident in your writing skills.

March 19, 2018
Hayley

There should be more honest resumewritingroup reviews because these people aren’t really that great, in fact they are terrible! Total amateurs when it comes to writing, any students could do such a job without paying a huge amount of money for it.

March 15, 2018
Kaitlin S.

I ordered a simple cover letter from this company, expecting to get something I can actually work with. Instead, I got a bad template that did not even fit the industry I am in, and without my name or qualifications, a person would not know what I am applying for.

January 20, 2018
Heidi Coakley

They took my money and gave no discount for the two different services I ordered, but that is not the only frustrating part. My resume seemed fine, but the cover letter I got was horrible, after which I decided to reach them and ask for some help. The agent was not really friendly, and he did not provide me with any solution whatsoever.

January 13, 2018
Kurt Williams

Required Field

What is your full name?
What is your email address?
A headline for your testimonial.
What do you think about us?